trails in the woods

With recent warm days much of the snow has melted but there’s still a lot in the woods. Here are a few pictures I took on a trail work day a few days ago followed by a simple walk on the trails this morning.

It was fun seeing how the deer use the trails I make!
It was fun seeing how the deer use the trails I make!
In the sunshine branches make patterns of shadow on the snow.
In the sunshine branches make patterns of shadow on the snow.
In some more open spaces the dogwood thickets are, well, thick!
In some more open spaces the dogwood thickets are, well, thick!
a trail that passes by a cedar tree.
a trail that passes by a cedar tree. This hillside has a jumble of huge boulders. You can see one of them on the right beside the trail.

One of my favorite places on the property is the old beaver pond. Several small springs and streams feed into it. Here are some pictures of it, taken from the eastern uphill side of it, looking northwest. I love the patterns the clouds make, and the reddish dogwood and white accents of the grey birches. beaver-pond-and-cloudsbeaver-pondold-beaver-pondclouds-at-the-pondThe woods are peaceful, and mostly quiet. It’s not exactly remote–I can hear occasional traffic, and sometimes neighbors’ dogs or the happy screams of playing children. Yesterday the peace was shattered by a neighbor doing what sounded like target practice with a rifle. But there are also the sounds of wind rattling dry leaves or whispering through bare branches, and the chuckling of the streams. I also hear cackles of turkeys, calling of crows, chirps of chickadees. I never see deer but their tracks are everywhere. I also see a lot of turkey tracks, and also squirrels. I found what looks like a beaver, muskrat, or otter path that led along the pond and down through a hole into the water. I saw raccoon tracks yesterday. There are porcupine signs and trails. I scared up two grouse the other day. It will be wonderful to spend time out here this Spring watching and feeling the woods come back to life.

cherry tree, I think, with fungus.
cherry tree, I think, with fungus.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Michele Whalen says:

    Beautiful pictures Anne. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Valerie S. says:

    Thanks for a wonderful post. you really captured the beauty of those woods. I love that you are working on that trail, Anne!

Leave a Reply

