snow day

We finally got some real snow! It’s much better for the garden to have a “blanket” of protection in cold weather.

David plowing the driveway
David plowing the driveway
The back yard yesterday morning
The back yard yesterday morning

Yesterday I took three hours to do some more trail work. Here are some pictures I took of the venture.

This is the first day this winter we have had enough snow for me to strap on my snowshoes
This is the first day this winter we have had enough snow for me to strap on my snowshoes!
first I headed out over the existing trails. I turned around to take this picture of my tracks.
first I headed out over the existing trails. I turned around to take this picture of my tracks.

I use a small bow saw and a pair of nippers to clear the trail. I try to cut a trail as wide as my two arms can reach to the sides, and as far as my arms reach over my head. In some places it is easy, but in others it is heavy going.

a lot of brambles and dogwood thickets to cut through.
a lot of brambles and dogwood thickets to cut through.
dogwood branches piled up along the new trail
dogwood branches piled up along the new trail
gloves and bow saw
gloves and bow saw
looking back on the trail I made through an old apple orchard surrounded by thickets of dogwood
looking back on the trail I made through an old apple orchard surrounded by thickets of dogwood
another picture of the trail.
another picture of the trail, with another brush pile on the right.

We are working on a little map showing all the trails, and I’m planning to make markers I can hand on tree branches to help snowshoers or hikers find their way.

beautiful and peaceful winter woods
beautiful and peaceful winter woods

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Michele Whalen says:

    That trail looks very inviting Anne. I should be strapping on my shoes to get outside. Perhaps this weekend. Be well my Friend.

Leave a Reply

