end of semester, beginning of winter

I just looked at a few photos I took of the garden in mid-November. Here are some nice ones:

a late bloom on the honeysuckle vine reaches up into a pretty sky. But the hummingbirds have all left for southern regions.
a late bloom on the honeysuckle vine reaches up into a pretty sky. But the hummingbirds have all left for southern regions.
A fallen leaf curls cozily in a "rain chime" which will soon be full of ice.
A fallen leaf curls cozily in a “rain chime” which will soon be full of ice.
a small maple on the south side of the house made a breath-taking display this year.
a small maple on the south side of the house made a breath-taking display this year.
Mr Fluff's beautiful orange coat catches the yellow November sunshine
Mr Fluff’s beautiful orange coat catches the yellow November sunshine.

Yesterday, feeling that I was neglecting my blog unforgivably, I took the camera on a tour of the garden and snapped some pictures. I had it in my pocket as I went out to check on the horses, so I also got some horse pasture photos.

As the two horses ate their grain, I got this picture of them with a manure pile in the foreground. This manure composts in the barnyard for two years and then goes, wheelbarrow by wheelbarrow, onto the flower and vegetable beds.
As the two horses ate their grain, I got this picture of them with a manure pile in the foreground. This manure composts in the barnyard for two years and then goes, wheelbarrow by wheelbarrow, onto the flower and vegetable beds. On the right here is the year-old manure, and to the left a smaller pile of this year’s manure.
This is the new bed we built this summer. It does not have much planted in it yet since it's filled with fairly recently composted materials--manure, hay, kitchen compost. We filled it once, it cooked down, and then filled it again.
This is the new bed we built this summer. It does not have much planted in it yet since it’s filled with fairly recently composted materials–manure, hay, kitchen compost. We filled it once, it cooked down, and then filled it again. It’s “decorated” with dead tree branches, and anchored with a gigantic rock there in the corner which took a lot of muscle to place.
Mr Fluff accompanied me on my walk and seemed to get into every shot!
Mr Fluff accompanied me on my walk and seemed to get into every shot!
The winterberry bushes are doing OK in the front yard. I think they would prefer a wetter soil. Still, it gives a splash of color and good food for winter birds. And yes, there is Mr Fluff in the background!
The winterberry bushes are doing OK in the front yard. I think they would prefer a wetter soil. Still, it gives a splash of color and good food for winter birds. And yes, there is Mr Fluff in the background!
a sign of the times: we brought home a tree-farm fir tree last weekend. Happy Holidays!
a sign of the times: we brought home a tree-farm fir tree last weekend. Happy Holidays!
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Michele Whalen says:

    Great photos Anne. Nice to see your good influence on David in getting fir trees versus whatever he drags home from the woods. :-). Be well My Friend.

    1. I know–we’ve had some pretty funny “trees” over the years. I can tell you that cedar trees don’t usually make great christmas/solstice trees!

Leave a Reply

