My birthday week

This past week I turned 55, and the garden gave me a lot of “presents”. This morning I walked around the garden with the camera.

Now blooming:

May 23 first orange poppy opened
May 23 first orange poppy opened
yellow corydalis artfully posed against a rock
yellow corydalis artfully posed against a rock
anemone sylvestris started blooming right on my birthday!
anemone sylvestris started blooming right on my birthday!
columbine with morning dewdrops. Columbine are also just starting to bloom.
columbine with morning dewdrops. Columbine are also just starting to bloom.
johnny-jump-ups are everywhere
johnny-jump-ups are everywhere

PROJECTS:

David built a new garden “gate”. Here is Mr Fluff trying it out. It’s an old screen door and it swings both directions. Very handy!May 23 008In the back yard I am planning another small wall. The ground is very dry, I discovered as I dug out the widened path in preparation for wall building. May 23 041We bought a little bird house as my birthday present. So far no birds have moved in. Maybe we have it too low? We might move it in another week and see if we get any takers.May 23 034White Garden: I bought a nannyberry (viburnum lentago) from a local nursery and planted it at the back of the white garden–these are native and grow around here, reaching ten feet! The three goatsbeard plants are coming along as well, and the two white hydrangea shrubs are leafing out. As for blooms, only the narcissus are around now, and the solomon’s seal. May 23 033Back Yard panorama: Here is the back yard view for May 23:May 23 back yardThe obligatory cat picture: I sat for a few minutes in the hosta corner at the bottom of the front yard. Mr Fluff, who was following me around the gardens, saw me sitting and made a bee-line for my lap.

"Oh, boy, she's sitting down! I can get my chin scratched if I hurry..."
“Oh, boy, she’s sitting down! I can get my chin scratched if I hurry…”

Challenges: I have a thuggish fern, an Ostrich Fern, at the bottom of the front yard. I have a few other types that are smaller and better-behaved, but this one is trying to take over the world. I have reluctantly decided that it has to go. I’m going to transplant it in  two spots where it can’t do any harm: the bed next to the garage, where it can fight it out with bishop’s weed, and a dark north-facing corner where it can compete with grass, stinging nettles, and more bishop’s weed. thuggish ferns

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks for the advice–we’ll hang it on a branch of the apple tree and see how that works.

  2. Michele Whalen says:

    The birdhouse is way too low Anne. Those birds know you have cats. Cats love birds. To kill and eat. Try putting it somewhere that is higher than the cats can jump and not on a fence that the cats can climb on. Good luck and be well my Friend. And happy belated birthday!

Leave a Reply

