Chilly Garden Party and lots of wall-building…also a new bird house!

It was chilly and breezy for the Mother’s Day garden party but we still had a nice time chatting and eating inside. A few intrepid souls put on coats and walked around the garden. One guest brought a hand-made bird house, which we put up this morning where we can see it from the kitchen window. new bird houseWe will keep an eye on it and report on which birds grab this fancy real estate first. To get ready for the party I went into gardening high gear and got three new walled beds made. I posted about the small patio bed last time. I also worked on the front yard. It took four hours from start to finish. Here are the photos:

with the hay pushed back and the path lowered a bit.
with the hay pushed back and the path lowered a bit.
with the cart I used to haul in rocks
with the cart I used to haul in rocks
the wall is mostly complete here. I added a few more later.
the wall is mostly complete here. I added a few more later.
Done. The clay pot is planted with marigolds and a petunia.
Done. The clay pot is planted with marigolds and a petunia. I brought in more hay to cover the path.
along the top the bed is edged with a handy log from a tree that got blown over a few years ago.
along the top the bed is edged with a handy log from a tree that got blown over a few years ago.

In the space between the meditation garden and the back yard we had planted a row of forsythia. They never bloomed and we finally decided to give up on them. I got out the shovel on Saturday and dug out the roots, which was a heavy job. Then I rolled a big decorative rock as a main feature for a new rock-lined bed. I added a wheelbarrow load of aged horse manure compost and planted some annuals. As a finishing touch I added a piece of garden art made by my niece Rachel. new bed w Rachel potnew little bedElsewhere in the garden the wood primrose is blooming a bright purplish pink, and is trying to escape its bed. I plan on transplanting the wanderers to a new bed. escaping wood primroseAnother escapee is a little patch of foam flower in the front yard hosta bed.escaping foamflowerUnder the kitchen window is the bed that faces north and is always last to thaw and last to bloom. I raked it and uncovered the hosta shoots. The bright green in the center is a white bleeding heart (dicentra spectabilis). I’m planning to move this one to the new white garden a friend of mine is creating. I have other white dicentra that I’ll move to my own white garden. raked kitchen window bedAnd speaking of my white garden, we put out the lovely metal lotus given to us at Christmas as a garden decoration for this new Moon Garden project. Here it is:white garden decorationThe daffodils are in full bloom and love this cool weather. daff large cup salmondaff yellow edgepink daffThese are just a few of the showier daffodils coming up–these are part of the “daffodil 100” collection I bought from the wonderful Colorblends company. While I was doing all this rock-wall building and party prep Mr. Fluff was, as usual, relaxing!relaxing cat

One Comment Add yours

  1. Michele Whalen says:

    Ah sorry to miss the party Anne but we enjoyed a day with my Mom inside nice and cozy.

Leave a Reply

