Mother’s Day annual garden party and potluck

This is really, for me, the sign that the gardening year has begun. Of course I am out there weeding and edging and raking to get the garden spiffed up for visitors, but the Mother’s Day party is the curtain opener. It’s partly because it always coincides with the last week of the semester. Yes, I still have grading to do, but the teaching semester is pretty well done and my thoughts turn to the garden.

front yard tulips on  Mother's Day 2012
front yard tulips on Mother’s Day 2012

I think I’ve been doing this for about 3 or 4 years now. It started out as mostly a way to share my growing collection of narcissus. A few years ago I bought a collection called “golden legacy” from White Flower Farm, and had the party to share the glory with friends.

getting ready for the party in 2013--the leaf pile gives it away. This was May 2nd.
getting ready for the party in 2013–the leaf pile gives it away. This was May 2nd.

The narcissus are the stars of the show, but I also have pulmonaria blooming by then and a few tulips. Forget-me-nots are just starting, violets are definitely well along. Hyacinths have faded.

pulmonaria
pulmonaria

Looking back in the last few years, it seems that 2014 was a late year–maybe it was cold that year? You can see in pictures from the week of Mother’s Day that I had done all the raking and clearing, but not much was blooming.

May 12 and mostly still green in 2014
May 12 and mostly still green in 2014

Last year we had that freakishly hot March, so Spring came early.

forget-me-not from 2015
forget-me-not from 2015

This year we had a nice warm spell that tricked all of us into putting away our winter clothes, and then we got a few really cold weeks. The garden last weekend was coming along about as usual, but the ground is dry after not much snow falling this winter. So I am happy to see this light persistent rain of this week. I just hope it clears off for the garden party!

common violet, a hardy and early bloomer. I recently learned it's a favorite of butterflies.
common violet, a hardy and early bloomer. I recently learned it’s a favorite of butterflies.
One Comment Add yours

  1. Michele Whalen says:

    Sorry we won’t be there to see all the beautiful gardens. Hanging out with my Mother that day. Be well.

Leave a Reply

