too many flowers to blog about!

It’s really getting crowded out there, and I can’t fit all the plants on a blog post, so I’ll have to be choosy. Yesterday I stopped at our neighbor’s nursery and got some pansies, portulaca, marigolds and petunias. I have eight delphinium seedlings started–had terrible germination this year for those. And lots of sunflower and zinnia and nasturtium seedlings. May 1 seedlings

I confess that I bought yet another collection of daffodils recently from Colorblends. I ordered the Daffodil 100  with a guaranteed 85 different cultivars. Here are some of the narcissus I already have:

a nice double white, short trumpet. I think it is called
a nice double white, short trumpet. I think it is called “lion king”
small yellow with dark orange cup--maybe the one called
small yellow with dark orange cup–maybe the one called “delibes”?
early solid yellow large cup in a vase on the kitchen table
early solid yellow large cup in a vase on the kitchen table

Let’s see, what have I accomplished…I’ve almost completely de-weeded the back yard. Compared to some previous years, that’s terrific–mostly it is because I kept up with things last fall. Here are some pictures I took this morning:

back yard as seen through the fence!
back yard as seen through the fence!
back yard as seen from the meditation garden.
back yard as seen from the meditation garden.
I like this picture of the back yard, showing the paths and low rock walls.
I like this picture of the back yard, showing the paths and low rock walls.

And in the front yard, I have removed the blanket–heavy quilt, really–of maple leaves that the maples dropped on it last fall.

rolled back leaf quilt!
rolled back leaf quilt!

I cleared the paths of grass and over-enthusiastic spreading flowers. I had to get out the shovel to remove the hundreds of garlic chive seedlings that were growing everywhere–they have very stubborn roots.  Another major expander is the Lanceleaf coneflower (Rudbeckia laciniata), which spreads vigorously by underground runners. I’ll get pictures soon. And then there’s the harebell, adenophora, which is the worst of all for spreading everywhere. I mean, everywhere. Anyway, here is the front yard this morning:

from the driveway
from the driveway
front yard from the top
front yard from the top

As you can see, narcissus are the main show right now, but bleeding heart is already budded and there are a few lucky tulips that escaped the voles and other critters. Garden May 3 037And of course there are lots of forget-me-nots!Garden May 3 051

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Michele says:

    Anne you are a garden working woman! It’s looking just lovely and I love the paths. Valerie’s got a bunch of new tulips blooming that are just wild and beautiful. Be well my Friend.

    1. Hi Michele! Tulips are such an extravagance, a luxury, a silliness, here. We have lots of voles that eat the bulbs, but I love tulips so I plant them anyway and celebrate each one that survives!

Leave a Reply

