gardener’s heaven

Classes are over for the semester, weather is perfect–I spent all morning and half of the afternoon outside. Had to put my bug jacket on for awhile but that’s OK. First thing I did was spend an hour fixing the horse pasture fence. While doing that I was accompanied by a beautiful rose-breasted grosbeak which sat on a branch near me and preened itself. No singing, but it was sure lovely.

Later, in the garden, I worked on the front yard. I raked off the layer of leaves, removed stalks of last year’s phlox, peonies, and hostas, and weeded the whole thing. I took photos but I don’t have those uploaded yet. Here are some pictures from a few days ago. David covered the remaining patch of grass at the top of the front yard with newspaper and hay. We plan to plant hostas there.

front yard top smothered
front yard top smothered

The bumble bees are out and are enjoying the pulmonaria blossoms.

pulmonaria
pulmonaria

Since I was wicked busy this past week, David got a lot more done in the garden than I did. He took his tractor and back-blade and scraped the accumulated old hay and horse manure from the barnyard and made piles–these will compost and shrink and eventually turn into garden soil! That’s Casey with his head buried in the hay bale!

horse pasture
horse pasture

The early, short red tulips I got from Colorblends are up, and looking great.

scarlet baby tulips
scarlet baby tulips

The bleeding heart and monarda are sprouted–now that the temperature is up everything is, actually. Spring is here for sure!

bleeding heart and monarda
bleeding heart and monarda

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Michele says:

    I am so happy that your school work is done and you can enjoy the Spring and Summer in your garden Anne. This is best time of year.

Leave a Reply

