Spring emergence is underway

Patience is required at this time of year around here. We all exchange news about the birds: I saw a robin, I heard a red-winged blackbird, I heard Canada geese, I saw a great blue heron, etc. Lately skunks, porcupines and racoons are active again. Wild turkeys are in mating season, to judge from the puffed up displays of the toms. The cows in our pasture are calving, and the horses Casey and Fly are shedding. In the garden, banks of soggy snow remain but they are dwindling.

snowdrops
snowdrops
here come the daffodils!
here come the daffodils!
tulips
tulips
front yard
front yard

Inside, the seedlings are growing robustly and will soon be transplanted into larger pots.

peppers and parsley
peppers and parsley
onions
onions
Tater relaxing on his blanket
Tater relaxing on his blanket

The wood for next winter arrived the other day.

next year's firewood
next year’s firewood

The little plastic hippo and goat survived the winter–I forgot to bring them in for the winter, and I discovered them as the snow retreated.???????????????????????????????

One Comment Add yours

  1. Michele says:

    Good to hear from you and see what’s going on at your place Anne. I’m almost home looking forward to getting my seeds started. Be well my friend.

Leave a Reply

