Quiet season in the garden

September was productive for the vegetable garden. Among other things we harvested a lot of tomatoes and made sauce for freezing. ??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????In the sauce we put our own home-grown parsley, onions, garlic and green peppers. We put the sauce in small containers for freezing, then use them all year for pasta and chili and some soups and casseroles. Right now the freezer is pretty packed.

I did not accomplish much in the flower garden: no big renovations, no major planting of hundreds of bulbs like I did last year. And that’s fine–I did lots of garden work earlier in this past season, and if a few weeds have snuck in I will get to them next spring. Here are some pictures of the garden from the last month.

September 15 dahlia
September 15 dahlia
zinnias
zinnias
Tater relaxing, as usual
Tater relaxing, as usual

I did do a little weeding in the back yard, and took some before and after shots with my trusty camera:

before
before
after
after

And David tackled the messy potting shed, with spectacular results — I ran back into the house to get the camera when I saw how neat everything looked: ??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????I was not as motivated to get things done–for the months of September and October I just enjoyed the garden, weeds and all. sept 21 076Above is a picture from the front yard. I liked the way the light hit the hosta leaves. The picture also captures some nice turtleheads, and cimifuga. My cimifuga has made lots of babies, so now I have a whole “grove” of them. Very nice! We had an early light frost in September, and then mild weather until last night when it frosted again. A few days ago David went around and took pictures of what was still blooming.

ladybell and fall leaves
ladybell and fall leaves
flowering tobacco
flowering tobacco

???????????????????????????????Calendula

corydalis--it looks so delicate, but it's tough!
corydalis–it looks so delicate, but it’s tough!
One last rather sad-looking poppy
One last rather sad-looking poppy

???????????????????????????????This beautiful lonicera is blooming but the hummingbirds have gone for the year. Here comes winter!

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Michele Whalen says:

    Great to hear from you Anne. Everything looks great and I just love a tidy work shop. David did a good job. We are today just eating the last of the green beans and a few little cherry tomatoes. Everything else is either canned or frozen. I’ve got to get out and finish cleaning up the garden. Valerie has many new tulip bulbs in and has her flower beds nice and tidy. Life is good. Be well my Friend.

Leave a Reply

