Keeping up with the weeds, and making paths

square garden edging
square garden edging

I dug out a “moat” and filled it with heavy pads of old hay. It’s doing a great job of keeping the weeds around the bed down. Elsewhere I have been mulching like mad with used and partly composted stable wood shavings.

back yard telephone pole garden mulched
back yard telephone pole garden mulched

I also use a thick layer of mulch on the paths. Here is one newly mulched path in the front yard:june 20 043I really put the mulch on thick. There are a lot of fungi in my garden this year, which is good for the soil and plants, so I like to see it.

In another big project I tackled the overgrown southside path. I widened it, and created a nice low rock wall. It is not done yet, but here’s how it looks now:june 20 003That is looking at it from the east. Here is a view of it from the west:june 20 006Here are a few random pictures we took of the garden this morning:june 23 001

astilbe budded
astilbe budded
I love this picture!
I love this picture!
very healthy bleeding heart plants!
very healthy bleeding heart plants!
One Comment Add yours

  1. Michele Whalen says:

    Your hard work makes a beautiful garden Anne.

Leave a Reply

