the blues

Blues are the best! I don’t have many true blue flowers. There’s a reliable burst of blue every early spring with ajuga and forget-me nots.

ajuga
ajuga

forget-me-nots are everywhere in our gardens:

forget me nots
forget me nots

The clear, light blue of mertensia is easy to miss in the front yard unless you look closely.

bluebells
bluebells

More forget-me-nots:

forget me notThe little chiondoxa, scilla and muscari take more looking–we don’t have huge numbers of them. I keep hoping they’ll spread faster.

glory of the snow
glory of the snow
blue scilla
blue scilla
muscari
muscari

Later on we have the perennial bachelor’s button, centaura, that blooms from May to August:may 19 166But the real blue splendor comes in June and July from delphinium:??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????july 9 026June 2011 001June 2011 036sky blue delphinium

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Valerie says:

    Anne, did you forget anchusa? A truly deeply impressive blue too!

    1. I tried anchusa once, and it bloomed nicely the first summer, then it died over the winter–I gave up on it–maybe I’ll try it again one of these years!

Leave a Reply

