Dahlias and glads

I’m sorry to confess that I left my dahlia tubers and my glad corms in the ground–and ordered new recently. After struggling for the last five years with keeping the dahlias over the winter, I decided to just buy new every year. The collections from Swan Island Dahlias are new every year and priced generously. I ordered the “Fabulous Five” and the “novelties” collections, which will be delivered in mid-April. For glads I order from Jung’s. They offer 50 of a mix of colors for $18.

Azteca dahlia
Azteca dahlia
colorful gladiolus
colorful gladiolus
elegant white glad
elegant white glad

I’m also enjoying all the garden catalogs that show up in my mailbox these days. And thinking about some garden projects for the coming season. Under the apple tree overlooking the back yard I’m hoping to remove the unhappy light-starved wild daylilies, adding some barnyard compost and plating a lot of Virginia Bluebells (mertensia verginica). I have a few in the front yard, their roots firmly intertwined with a blanket of goose-necked loose-strife, so I may need to buy some more, and hope that they spread, because they are pricey.

bluebells
bluebells
apple tree May 20 last year
apple tree May 20 last year

 

Leave a Reply

