Winter garden down time

I like gardening in the north, where we get an enforced season of rest from weeding, planting, even admiring. There’s time for dreaming and planning, but doing nothing, not even reading or thinking about gardening, can make a good break. That doesn’t mean not enjoying the outdoors, however. This morning was foggy, everything looked ghostly and mysterious. December 2 005This is looking East where the ravine bisects the horse pasture. In the ravine are maples, willows, box alders and other shrubbery I have not identified yet. I also took a picture of the apple tree outside the woodshed. It’s still festooned with a few greenish/yellow/brown apples. I love the arch of the branches:December 2 006Over Thanksgiving break I went to my sister’s place. I’m sorry I don’t have photos, but I will describe the new garden art objects I carried home from her place and I’ll take pictures soon. I was walking back from her chicken coop and I saw two 20″ high metal ducks or geese, painted white. I admired them and wondered if these came with the old barn, or where she had found them. I liked them right away. Turns out she isn’t very fond of them, and I was welcome to take them home! She also managed to sneak in a third unwanted garden ornament–a frog holding a bunch of metal “flowers” that catch water and chime when they hit each other–hard to describe, I’ll have to show pictures. I’m not too sure about the frog, but I really like the geese. I also went to my parents-in-laws’ home and read a book there about trees that inspired me to learn more about them. In our yard we have lots of black walnut trees  and a few white pine trees. Here’s a picture from this morning of a white pine in the foreground and a walnut behind:December 2 001 We also have a beautiful tall Norway Spruce in the back yard, and some maples and elms. On our 115 acres there are all the usual trees of this area: sugar maples, red maples, cedar, cheery, red oak, basswood, willows, ash, beech, birch, poplars, hawthorne, apples, and hop hornbeam. We’re planning a ramble in the woods as soon as hunting season is over, and I’ll take some pictures then.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Love the pictures! I can’t remember ever seeing the ducks/geese or frog, so I’ll have to wait ’til you post pics of those, too 😛

Leave a Reply

