Rachel pictures the garden

My niece and her fancy camera visited my garden the other day, and I was intrigued to see how different her choices were from mine as she wandered through the garden. She took many more “weed” or “wildflower” pictures than I do, and often aimed her camera from a different angle. She took a bunch of pictures of a dried, faded flower I would have reached over and deadheaded to get out of the frame! She also took a lot of nice pictures of buildings and out-buildings on the property. But like me, she took plenty of “portraits”, close photos of individual blooms, and like in my shots, the ubiquitous bumble bees landed in plenty of shots.

So here are some of her pictures of structures:

the house from near the potting shed
the house from near the potting shed
South face of the potting shed
South face of the potting shed
part of the garage/shop
part of the garage/shop
old swing with chain
old swing with chain

And here are some of her “weed” shots:

I love how elegant she made this common weed look!
I love how elegant she made this common weed look!
morning sun shines on a thistle in the horse pasture
morning sun shines on a thistle in the horse pasture
apple mint takes up a lot of space on our property--here is a mint blossom from a patch in the pasture
apple mint takes up a lot of space on our property–here is a mint blossom from a patch in the pasture
Queen Anne's lace
Queen Anne’s lace

Here are a few nice flower portraits:

ten foot tall yellow flower--I forget the name of it
ten foot tall yellow flower–I forget the name of it
sunflower--self-seeded from last year
sunflower–self-seeded from last year
echinops
echinops
false sunflower--I love the combination of sharp focus and fuzz
false sunflower–I love the combination of sharp focus and fuzz
"pink diamond" hydrangea
“pink diamond” hydrangea

My favorite of her photos is of some apple mint blossoms, with a bumble bee flying off. It’s a classic!IMG_0491

Leave a Reply

