Mostly wordless–lots of photos

This morning I did a few miscellaneous gardening chores, things like deadheading daylilies, and raking up piles of weeds left over from the square bed renovation, and planting the daylilies I had dug out of it. I had just set them where I wanted to plant them, and then it poured rain, and they sat out all night–but they seemed fine this morning, so I plunked them into their new home. Then I just wandered around taking photos. Here they are:

hummingbird moth resting on a "blue muffin" vibernum leaf.
hummingbird moth resting on a “blue muffin” vibernum leaf.
closer up of the moth
closer up of the moth
cat on a path
cat on a path
a nice small clear yellow daylily.
a nice small clear yellow daylily.
Early on cool mornings I often find the bumblebees just sitting like this head first in a lily blossom--Sleeping? Dreaming?
Early on cool mornings I often find the bumblebees just sitting like this head first in a lily blossom–Sleeping? Dreaming?
Phlox of all shades from pure white to red to dark purple are blooming now.
Phlox of all shades from pure white to red to dark purple are blooming now.
the backyard with a new path, and the shrinking lawn!
the backyard with a new path, and the shrinking lawn!
dahlia
dahlia
Azteca dahlia. I ordered this from Swan Island Dahlias last year. Stunning!
Azteca dahlia. I ordered this from Swan Island Dahlias last year. Stunning!
another Swan Island dahlia, dark wine red, just opening.
another Swan Island dahlia, dark wine red, just opening.
our miniature lion
our miniature lion

We’re leaving for a ten-day trip to New Brunswick, Canada on Monday, and planning to visit some gardens there. I’ll be posting again when we get back!

Leave a Reply

