the backyard, almost there!

I basically did nothing but garden in the back yard for two solid days, with a few hours off to go ride my horse. I’m leaving August 5 for a ten-day road trip, and really wanted to get the back yard done before then. Back in early June I re-edged the whole long lower edge of the backyard garden, by re-cutting a sharp edge with a shovel, and removing sod, and then putting in a very low rock wall. Here’s how it looked:

June 4
June 4

June 4 002Then I did other things—and the grass moved in big time. July 25 I re-weeded the outside of the low rock wall, and the next day put down a heavy layer of old hay:??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????Then the next day July 26 I tackled the inside of the rock wall. I weed barehanded, and early on in the process I grabbed a nice handful of weeds, plus a bumblebee, ouch! But it didn’t slow me down. By the end of the day I had pulled weeds for about 8 hours, and I had a completely weed-free back yard garden for the first time ever. Whew! Since then I’ve been putting on wood-shaving mulch to keep it that way. I took lots of pictures!

wide mulched paths
wide mulched paths
the rock wall is visible again
the rock wall is visible again

???????????????????????????????

yarrow and tall balloon flower have been staked
yarrow and tall balloon flower have been staked
a false sunflower also had to be staked
a false sunflower also had to be staked

I’ve never seen so many hummingbird moths as in the last week. The garden was LOUD with bumblebees and moths as I worked.

bee on anise hyssop
bee on anise hyssop
hummingbird moth on pink phlox
hummingbird moth on pink phlox

The next project is finishing the wall around the “square” garden, and moving a few plants around in it, adding some composted horse manure, mulching, and putting in one wide path through the middle, taking out the smaller side paths. Here’s how it looks now:various photos 071And after comparing a lot of catalogs, I’ve settled on a new-to-me company to buy a few (only 225) tulip bulbs for planting this fall–the company is colorblends.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Michele Whalen says:

    Only 225 Anne? You are cuckoo but have a beautiful garden! Be well my Friend.

Leave a Reply

