misty moisty morning

Cool and misty outside this morning. I walked around happily with my camera and was suprised by a pink daylily that opened overnight. It’s one of the new ones I ordered from Oakes Daylilies in January–it arrived last month and I planted it in the back yard. Yesterday I smothered the grass around these new lilies in the back yard with newspaper and hay. Here is how it looks now–the incredible shrinking lawn:???????????????????????????????This daylily, called Pink Attraction”, is very short right now, but I think it will get a little taller in years to come. Darling pink face on this lily. July 2 002July 2 003I had fun making portraits of columbine, sweet peas, and other flowers.

sweet peas
sweet peas
dark purple columbine
dark purple columbine

The most beautiful blossoms in the garden right now are those poppies. Here are some pictures of those:?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????July 2 030Some are double, some are single, and the color ranges from nearly orange to bright pink. They also come with bees inside!???????????????????????????????I stopped this morning at the farmer’s market in Canton, and purchased some plants from Guy Drake (I’d put a link to his nursery but he told me he doesn’t have a website or facebook page or anything of that sort). I got a pink viney honeysuckle, two huge white  Chinese astilbe, and four little sweet william plants.

We checked our calendars and decided when our next garden party will be: Sunday July 14, right in the middle of daylily season. Daylilies are the queen of my garden–I have them in every single bed and it’s quite a show when they get going. Today another daylily started blooming, a miniature, dark orangey yellow:???????????????????????????????The horses were swishing flies and chomping hay nearby:July 2 032And I took a few nice morning pictures of the upper front yard:

letting the milkweed grow for the butterflies
letting the milkweed grow for the butterflies
front yard jumble
front yard jumble

White echinacea bud:

I love echinacea--it is drought tolerant, self-seeds generously, never needs staking, looks great, stays nice in a vase forever, feeds butterflies and bugs in the summer and birds in the winter.
I love echinacea–it is drought tolerant, self-seeds generously, never needs staking, looks great, stays nice in a vase forever, feeds butterflies and bugs in the summer and birds in the winter.

The obligatory cat picture to end:July 2 031

Leave a Reply

