keeping up with the weeds…or not

Mostly, not. Take a look at this:???????????????????????????????This is my nice new rock wall in the back yard. The fresh green baby grass has made itself  completely at home outside and inside the barrier, as you can see. *sigh* I will be going to get some mulch soon–and I did a few hours of weed suppression this morning in the garden under the walnut tree. Here are some pictures of the process:

here is how it looked when I started. I had already pulled out the grass outside the rock wall the other day.
here is how it looked when I started. I had already pulled out the grass outside the rock wall the other day.
intermediate stage: I put down overlapping thick layers of wetted newspaper
intermediate stage: I put down overlapping thick layers of wetted newspaper
next step: added a lot of half-rotted hay.
next step: added a lot of half-rotted hay.
This is the back side of the same garden, and it got the same treatment.
This is the back side of the same garden, and it got the same treatment.

This should keep the strip just outside the rocks weed-free for the rest of the year. This morning I also put down newspaper and hay in the back yard lawn where I have the five new daylilies planted. My garden work is very much focused on long term solutions, so I don’t have to keep weeding the same places over and over. I’ll be making trips to the nearby stables where I get used wood shavings to use as mulch. But I’m also working on planning for less work in the long haul. I don’t want to be working this hard every summer for the next 30 years!

I’ve also been clearing our crowded garden areas, since it is a wet year I’m concerned about too many slugs, fungus, mildew, and so on. I end up ripping out a lot of violets, which grow everywhere in giant clumps.

Anyway, a few random photos from this morning–the first blue-green pink poppy (papaver somniferum) opened yesterday:???????????????????????????????And an orange coneflower (echinacea):July 1 011I am happy to note that the dahlias in the back yard are budded. Maybe I’ll actually get some dahlia blooms before the frost hits!???????????????????????????????This morning I was out gardening from around 6:30 until 9:00 am. Then I put all my tools away in the potting shed, came inside and changed into “town” clothes, scrubbed off the bug stuff I smear all over my face, ears and neck. On my way back downstairs I stopped at the window to look out at the gardens. I thought, “I have time to go after those two iris patches, and then I could push back the edge of the garden and build another wall… ” and I was on my way outside to get the tools back out of the potting shed, when I heard a loud noise that means Tater is climbing the screen door to the sunporch demanding to come in and curl up on the sunporch sofa for awhile. I let him in and said “You are right, sitting and relaxing is a better plan.” So I made myself another cup of coffee, cut up an orange to eat, and sat awhile looking out at the garden. Cats are great for that kind of thing. garden late June 070

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi! How are you? I’m having a great summer. Lounging around, between riding and gardening and playing lots of music. You can come out to visit anytime! I’m having a garden party potluck July 14 starting at noon, but we wouldn’t have a lot of time to talk. I’m away this coming weekend but home for the rest of the month. When the sun comes back out maybe you can come out. Are you blogging these days?

  2. Michele Whalen says:

    Anne, you have work to keep weeds down and I have work keeping the strong northeast wind from completely destroying Valerie’s flower garden along the walk. I also have to put up barriers to keep the darn wind from blowing over all of my vegetables including the tomatoes. They are just suffering out there. Be well my Friend.

    1. overall I think I would rather deal with weeds than wind–wind can be discouraging! We actually planted a half dozen lilacs in the southwest corner of the property precisely for that reason–as a wind break. And also we planted three tall bushes nearer to the house as a wind break.

  3. Natalia says:

    Dear Anne, Your garden is looking more gorgeous than ever and I would love to come see it in person again! Hope you are having a lovely summer. Your cat sure is sitting pretty. Natalia

Leave a Reply

