Late June garden report

It’s been a good year for the plants. We had a decent amount of snow  this winter and plenty of rain this Spring. Almost everything is green and looking healthy.

front yard peony bush in a sea of green
front yard peony bush in a sea of green

But that also means a lot of weeding!

hours and hours and hours of pulling weeds...
hours and hours and hours of pulling weeds…

And there are lots of mushrooms in the garden, too. Look at the size of this one I found the other day!garden late June 005This morning I woke up around 3 and couldn’t get back to sleep. I heard some coyotes sing a little later, and around 4 I heard the first sleepy-sounding robin calling. I was up and having coffee at 5:15, and in the garden weeding and doing other chores by 5:30. It was cool and fragrant then. I saw the sun come up orange.  I worked until 8:45 or so. I tied up some tall yellow yarrow that had flopped over, and cut a clump of them from the edge, and planted it in place of an iris in the square garden. Pulled weeds, moved a shrub from a place too small for it, watered another recently-planted shrub, stuff like that. Nothing too major. Tomorrow morning I plan to carry barnyard compost to a few places that could use a little more soil or better soil.

The delphinium are blooming nicely now. garden late June 013???????????????????????????????As is the evening primrose:???????????????????????????????

evening primrose close-up
evening primrose close-up

The daylilies are sending up scapes:???????????????????????????????Echinacea are all budded:garden late June 057I enjoyed chatting with a pretty potato bug. In my hand it curled up all its feet and pretended to be dead for awhile. Back on the potato plant it came back to life. ??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????We don’t have many potato bugs so we don’t bother killing them. They don’t make much of an impact on the potato plants. I am not so kind to Japanese Beetles when I find them on my roses, but so far I have not seen any.

a "wild" rose growing on the weedy hillside overlooking the garden. Very fragrant!
a “wild” rose growing on the weedy hillside overlooking the garden. Very fragrant!
a bush rose in the meditation garden
a bush rose in the meditation garden
the red rugosa rose
the red rugosa rose

Tater watched me work this morning from his comfy spot on the front porch bench:garden late June 071

One Comment Add yours

  1. Michele Whalen says:

    I love watching the sun come up while on the River fishing Anne. It is just a joy to be up enjoying the day so early. Be well.

Leave a Reply

