First Day of Summer

Tomorrow is my potluck garden party, and a few days ago I returned from a week and a half away, so I have been weeding like crazy. I missed the first peony bloom, but I walked around the garden with nippers, deadheading the truly spent ones, and cutting the almost-past-prime ones for bouquets inside.

before deadheading--shaggy peony bushes
before deadheading–shaggy peony bushes
the staking barely sufficed to keep them upright
the staking barely sufficed to keep them upright

???????????????????????????????Inside there were big bouquets on every available surface.

a few peonies make a bouquet
a few peonies make a bouquet
soft pink peonies
soft pink peonies

I can’t resist including a few of the portraits of peony blooms:

a gorgeous dark pink peony that I rescued from the shade of a giant maple tree in the yard of the abandoned house across the street. It's at least ten times bigger than it was under the maple tree.
a gorgeous dark pink peony that I rescued from the shade of a giant maple tree in the yard of the abandoned house across the street. It’s at least ten times bigger than it was under the maple tree.
a lovely dusty pink peony I ordered three years ago from Khlem's Songsparrow nursery.
a lovely dusty pink peony I ordered three years ago from Khlem’s Songsparrow nursery.

While we were away a woodchuck moved into the vegetable garden. It found the perfect spot, under the steps leading down to the garden.

home sweet hole
home sweet hole

Of course David lost no time–he filled the hole back in, then filled it in again the next day, then the next day—finally yesterday he tried pouring water down it and filling it in again. We hope this gentle harassment will make the woodchuck move away!

In other garden news, the campus (trumpet vine) we thought was dead last fall is looking vigorous. No blooms yet, but I’m sure it will thrive.???????????????????????????????Here are a few other pictures–more after the party!garden June 19 053

healthy potato plants
healthy potato plants

 

yellow digitalis looking good this year!
yellow digitalis looking good this year!

 

Mr Fluff
Mr Fluff

 

beautiful combination: purple comfrey, iris, and budded delphinium
beautiful combination: purple comfrey, iris, and budded delphinium
2 Comments Add yours

  1. So jealous of those potatoes! And the last picture looks absolutely stunning! I think I will start collecting iris….and I think I know where to begin looking for some…!!

  2. Michele Whalen says:

    All beautiful Anne. I’ll be there tomorrow although may be a bit late.

Leave a Reply

