gardening after 50

Ye gads. I used to work or play outside all day with no sun screen, no hat, no bug spray, no water, no sunglasses, and I was fine. I worked on the backyard fence the other day putting in the wall–I have pictures! — from 6:30 am until 11:30 am and I had to lay down on the sofa for half an hour  to recover. The sun was hot, and I was over-dressed–heavy jeans, sneaks, T-shirt, no hat (Anne, you idiot), no sunscreen, no sunglasses, lifting rocks and pulling weeds=near sunstroke. Someday I’ll learn! Here’s a before and after series:

back yard, stone wall partly done
back yard, stone wall partly done
the spot I was working on: before
the spot I was working on: before, or rather half-way done
same spot, after
same spot, after

On the top side of this same back yard the lawn, or grass, or sod, whatever you want to call it, is shrinking. I planted all the dahlias. That was a two-day major chore. I had to dig the holes in the sod, plant, stake, and water the dahlias (16 of them), put down wet newspaper, then hay, and water the hay to keep it from blowing away. And cart away the chunks of sod and the buckets full of rocks that came out of the dirt! So it was time consuming. I told those dahlias, “Here’s your last chance. If you don’t bloom by frost, I’m not growing dahlias any more!” We’ll see how it goes.

the incredible shrinking lawn
the incredible shrinking lawn

Then, yesterday and this morning I finished planting all my seedlings. Except for ten delphiniums that I decided to pot up to grow more first, and four hollyhocks that got the same treatment. I was enjoying that accomplishment and chatting with Jeanne on the phone when a FedEx van pulled up. “I gotta go, there’s a FedEx van in the driveway” I said, “I’ll call you right back.” What was it? More plants!! Five daylilies arrived from Oakes Daylilies, four that I ordered, and one bonus plant. After calling Jeanne back to finish our conversation, I went outside, turned on the water, grabbed the shovel and the daylilies joined the dahlias in the now even smaller back yard. I didn’t have time to give them the newspaper and hay mulch treatment, but they are well-planted and well-watered.

five newly planted daylilies.
five newly planted daylilies.

The gorgeous peony “Red Charm” is blooming, and it’s stunning. ???????????????????????????????Also, the orange poppies are in full bloom. Just in time for a hail/thunder storm predicted for tonight! Oh, well.

poppy portrait
poppy portrait
poppy patch
poppy patch

There are some stately iris budded out and just about ready to bloom–hopefully they will not crash when the storm hits. They are a deep golden bronze color. Even in bud they’re pretty.June 1 017

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Michele Whalen says:

    I forgot to comment on gardening after 50. It’s absolutely amazing, and disturbing, to me that I cannot do the stuff I used to do without suffering. But we’re alive and kicking and that’s a good thing.

  2. The poppies and iris and peony look wonderful. We had the storm too, and it was not damaging. Got 3/4 inch rain overnight, which is wonderful. Maybe Dave will end up selling the lawn mower soon, eh??!!!

  3. Michele Whalen says:

    The storm just passed through and it wasn’t bad here at all. I hope it’s ok at your house. Those peonies are gorgeous Anne! Be well.

Leave a Reply

