Memorial Day

The showy flowers right now are iris, poppies, dame’s rocket and bleeding hearts.

one of the intermediate iris
one of the intermediate iris
nothing is quite like these bright orange poppies
nothing is quite like these bright orange poppies
All of these come from a few spindly stalks I brought back from my sister's back yard. They're pretty, fragrant, and spread generously--what's not to like?
All of these come from a few spindly stalks I brought back from my sister’s back yard. They’re pretty, fragrant, and spread generously–what’s not to like?
glorious white spirea
glorious white spirea

In the front yard, the perennial bachelor’s button centaura montana is starting up and will not quit until fall. ???????????????????????????????Lots of lavender flowers–also blooming is the wood hyacinth, or English bluebells? hyacinthoides: ???????????????????????????????In wildflower news, I was thrilled to see the wood betony I brought from Downerville woods made it through the winter. I hope it’s happy here and spreads.

wood betony
wood betony

And, 100 yards from our driveway on the side of the road I spied a long patch of false Solomon’s Seal. I checked that the patch was sizeable, and seeing that it was, I carefully dug up four small tubers. I planted them in the front yard and then it rained straight for three days–so, not surprisingly they’ve done fine.

false Solomon's Seal
false Solomon’s Seal

We thought our trumpet vine was dead, but it’s looking very vigorous. Also, the hibiscus is sprouting.

hibiscus
hibiscus

We have a lovely cool morning, with a clear sky after many days of drizzle and grey skies, so I went around taking pictures. Here’s a few from this morning. ???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

Leave a Reply

