Golden Legacy narcissus collection

frilly white and yellow
frilly white and yellow

I have written about this before, but it is worth repeating. White Flower Farm offers a collection of 100 narcissus bulbs from the Dutch Van Der Veek family. It’s called “The Golden Legacy”. I got one of these collections three or four years ago, and it’s been one of the glories of my garden ever since. I always start the season with masses of the large yellow “plain” daffodils. Here is a patch of them in a picture I took this morning:

the first to bloom
the first to bloom

These are sturdy, early, and multiply rapidly. I hope eventually to have them all over the garden and yard. The Van Der Veek collection includes every size and type and color. The collection comes unlabeled, so I don’t know the names of most of my narcissus. I have probably another hundred types that I bought myself here and there. The well-known Ice Follies start to bloom very soon after the plain yellow. Those are white outside petals and pale yellow cones:

Ice Follies, after awhile they become mostly white
Ice Follies, after awhile they become mostly white

The other part of my narcissus collection come from the hillside, and were planted here long ago. These are the poeticus ones, small, fragrant narcissus. Those tend to bloom at the very end of the narcissus season.

old style poeticus narcissus
old style poeticus narcissus

This morning I came across those frilly white/yellow ones I started the post with. Here’s the whole patch:

narcissus patch front yard
narcissus patch front yard

My plan is to do a large-scale narcissus transplanting project this year, after they have finished blooming. I’ll dig up clumps like this and separate them, and re-plant all over.

I managed to get a little gardening done over the weekend. In the back yard I weeded, tromped the paths down a little, cleared out stalks and old leaves.

Spring cleaning
Spring cleaning

This is the back yard slope that I plan to make into two or three tiers with short rock walls. More on that later. Meanwhile the garden under the apple tree is looking pretty tidy:

under the apple tree
under the apple tree

And so far the tulips in the “square bed” have not been eaten or dug up! Here is one of the patches:

tulips
tulips

It was a gorgeous morning around sunrise when I went out to feed the horses. While the two horses nickered and grumbled for me to hurry up, I paused to take a picture of the sky:

beautiful dawn
beautiful dawn

 

Leave a Reply

