Sunny day in April

It rained the day before and it is raining again today, but yesterday we had sunshine. I went outside with my camera. The gardens are mostly still brown and drab, which is fine, no reason to hurry when frost can still catch us.

back yard
back yard
front yard
front yard
under the apple tree--back yard
under the apple tree–back yard

But of course the crocuses are blooming. I have been very restrained planting them, because the garden is still not established and I’m always uprooting them as I redo things. I’m waiting until a few more years pass and then I’ll buy thousands and carpet the gardens with them.

white crocus and friends
white crocus and friends

purple crocus small???????????????????????????????I also found a few blue squill or scilla. One of them had a little red pal nearby–the first red lily bug I’ve seen. I let it live–I’m planning on wiping them out but I wasn’t equipped with my bug-killing soapy water, and I’m a wimp about mashing bugs with my bare hands. See it peeking out from under the leaf?april 17 014The red shoots of peonies are poking up. ???????????????????????????????Lots of other perennials are coming up; here is a young delphinium along with David’s bare toes:???????????????????????????????

 

And everywhere are the young fuzzy poppy seedlings:

baby orange poppies
baby orange poppies

 

Last fall I planted lots of tulip bulbs in the “square” garden, along with hot pepper to discourage rodent feasting. So far they all are emerging.

tulip patch
tulip patch

Meanwhile, I had to transplant my sunflowers inside into larger pots because they were growing so fast. I also transplanted some nasturtium. I started some zinnia seeds, too.

transplanted sunflowers
transplanted sunflowers

I got an email notice that the dahlias are in the mail from Oregon. They’ll be potted up to join last year’s in the sun porch until I dare to put them out.

last year's dahlias, made it through the winter and have sprouted already.
last year’s dahlias, made it through the winter and have sprouted already.

I’m looking forward to the Day-Before-Mother’s-Day garden party here, scheduled for May 11, Saturday. It’s the official “opening” of the garden. It will be the third annual party. My flute/strings quartet might even play on the front porch!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Michele Whalen says:

    Anne, get that bug! We are planning on making the party this year. I miss you.

Leave a Reply

