March in the North Country–and still winter

The weather folks warned us at least a week ahead, so I had time to put the winter blanket back on my horse. I haven’t started gardening yet this Spring, so I didn’t have to do anything outside to prepare. The temperatures are supposed to go back up soon. The snow had melted a few days ago, and the view outside to the South looked bleak but vaguely Spring-like:

the view through the South bay window
the view through the South bay window

But yesterday it snowed. The front yard a few hours ago has a thin covering of snow now:

the front yard March 14 late afternoon
the front yard March 14 late afternoon

David is in gardening mode, however. He has 108 onions started–I think it’s hilarious that he knows the exact number.

baby onions
baby onions

He also has baby arugula, parsley, radicchio, spinach, sorrel and a few other things. Here he is yesterday thinning the seedlings:

thinning the seedlings
thinning the seedlings
a delicate operation
a delicate operation

I’m going to wait until April 1 or so this year to start my seeds. But I have been taking cuttings of some of my favorite indoor plants and rooting them in water. I bought a nice dark red glazed pot the other day and planted my begonia cutting in it–it’s doing very well, even blooming.

repotted red begonia
repotted red begonia

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Michele Whalen says:

    Of course he knows how many onion seedlings he started. I count too. I’m waiting for April 4th as that’s the first day I’m home and can do it.
    Be well!

    1. I think waiting for April is better anyway, for most plants. They can get too spindly if started too early. Of course, your greenhouse should provide plenty of light. Tonight it’s supposed to get down to 2 degrees! Winter is not quite ready to give up.

Leave a Reply

