paws, paws, paws

The weather is quintessential February in the North Country (poor Michele is in the South missing all of this, ha ha). Drippy, damp, slushy. Yesterday I stepped out onto the front porch to feed the cats (and to chase away yet another stray cat trying to sidle up to the banquet). In the still cool morning air (it was 6 am) I clearly heard an owl call repeatedly from across the big open field to the west. Magic! This is the edge of the porch roof:

February melting
February melting

On my trip down to feed and water the horses I saw lots of footprints criss-crossing. Tiny ones and heavier ones. Here’s my favorite, made by the cute little bare hands of the opossums.

oppossum tracks
opossum tracks

Here’s a close up–adorable!

opossum hand print
opossum hand print

Some other prints and the strong aroma of skunk tell me that the critters of the woods are waking up and roaming. Here’s the raccoon highway between the barn and the garage, crossed by rabbit tracks–or maybe squirrel?:

raccoon highway
raccoon highway

Some very tiny ones also showed up:

tiny tracks with a tail dragging!
tiny tracks with a tail dragging!

A pretty big rabbit hopped into the back yard:

rabbit tracks
rabbit tracks

And I made plenty of tracks taking hay, feed, and water to the horses.

Casey enjoying his breakfast
Casey enjoying his breakfast

The red charm peony I love so well is looking bedraggled, of course, but the live part down below is just fine:

red charm peony sprawling in the snow
red charm peony sprawling in the snow

Meanwhile, David has been busy indoors planting seeds. These are arugula or spinach or radicchio, I’m not sure which.

seedlings!
seedlings!

The onions are well along:

onions
onions

And my favorite photo: a close-up of something just pushing out of the dirt:

germination!
germination!

I am being patient, waiting to start my flower seeds until April 1st.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Michele Whalen says:

    Oh I love that germination photo Anne. And as far as the temps here it is 56F today and windy. We are heading out to watch a movie at the theater instead of suffering at the beach tonight. It will warm up near the beginning of the week. I also love the picture of Casey with his nice winter coat. I am looking forward to starting all of my seeds the day after I return the first week of April. The greenhouse helps them move along quite nicely.
    Be well my Friend and stay warm

Leave a Reply

