New Year, plans for a blog upgrade!

I like blogging more than I expected to. I have lots of ideas for the next season. For example, I’m going to identify five top trouble spots in the garden and document how I deal with them over the season. And I thought I would start “plant of the week” one day a week where I write in more detail about my favorite plants–starting with daylilies, my absolute favorite. Another idea I have is to include the “wild garden” where I take the camera and a wildflower guide out onto our 115 acres to write about the plants growing there.

I am planning to upgrade to a fancier type of wordpress site that you have to pay a few dollars a year for. Partly I am motivated by discovering that wordpress, without telling me, put ads on my blog. Not cool. I’m hoping to get rid of those and also have a better site with more bells and whistles.

Meanwhile, here are the photos I took the other day, around dusk. All the flowers are up to their necks in snow–or, completely covered. That’s just fine with me! It’s great protection for them.

from the driveway, looking southwest
from the driveway, looking southwest
coneflowers and rudbeckia peeking out from a snowbank
coneflowers and rudbeckia peeking out from a snowbank
This is the Red Charm peony I photographed at intervals starting in March last year. Just to round out the year!
This is the Red Charm peony I photographed at intervals starting in March last year. Just to round out the year!
view westward from the front yard.
view westward from the front yard.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Michele Whalen says:

    Hmmm, I’ve never seen ads Anne. Am I just blind to them? I don’t like winter all that much but your pictures are beautiful. Thanks for taking the time to share them with us. Also, I know almost zilch about flowers so am always interested in seeing your pictures with the names and will be happy to see the wildflowers and names. Be well!

  2. varjedag says:

    sounds inspiring w your new blog ideas and a new blog without ads. ( tumblr is ad-free even on the free ones.)
    I love your winter garden pics!

Leave a Reply

