accidental gardening

Yesterday around 4 pm, when it was still–barely–light outside, I said, “I wonder if there are any of those big buckets in the potting shed that I can use to haul water down to the barn for Casey.” D said, “Yes, there are two with those bulbs in them.” What?? I thought I had planted all of my bulbs. In the course of refurbishing beds and transplanting perennials and contracting the gardens a little, I had dug up lots of narcissus, which are by now in every square inch of my gardens. Most of the time I manage to get them re-planted somewhere right away, but these had been set aside and forgotten. On with the boots, trudging through the dusk to the potting shed, and sure enough, there were two buckets half full of clumps of narcissus, masses of bulbs that needed to be separated and re-planted anyway. It has not been super cold yet, so I think they are fine. I brought them into the house, examined them, transferred all of them to one bucket, poured some dirt over them, and put them into the unheated room upstairs we call “the attic”, where I store my dahlias, because it stays around 50 degrees all winter. Next Spring I’ll plant them. I thought of planting them in pots now for forced indoor bulbs but I don’t really have the time, especially now when grades are due.

Here is the Casey who started it all–he could drink from the spring-fed stream that runs through his pasture, but seemed unwilling to leave the back of the barn in the blizzard yesterday. So I brought him some water–from the house, in buckets, because the water system in the barn is not working right now. Exercise! dec 23 006

Here is the view from the back of the barn this morning:dec 23 007Casey’s only company these days since his buddy Gigi died is the herd of beef cows across the fence. I am working on finding another equine companion.

beef cows across the fence
beef cows across the fence
I like this photo, of the view outside one of the windows in the horse barn.
I like this photo, of the view outside one of the windows in the horse barn.
Here is Casey's stall. It's bedded with lots of hay, and stays there all winter--in the spring it gets cleaned out and makes good mulch for the garden.
Here is Casey’s stall. It’s bedded with lots of hay, and stays there all winter–in the spring it gets cleaned out and makes good mulch for the garden.

Thanks for the fertilizer, Casey! Here he is eating, and turning horse food into great garden compost!dec 23 001

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Michele Whalen says:

    Ah horse manure. It is what I believe makes my tomato plants grow so well. Nice pictures Anne. Thanks for sharing. Be well my Friend.

    1. Enjoy the nice wintery snowy scenery! And Merry Christmas to you both!

Leave a Reply

