December 17 thoughts

I can’t believe how long it’s been since I last wrote a blog post. My horse blog has been soaking up a lot of energy, and of course the garden has pretty much been sleeping. Here’s what I’m doing a lot of now:

January catalogs!
January catalogs!

The great gardening catalog season is here. I did manage to plant all of my tulip and daffodil bulbs and dig up many of my dahlia tubers. We have a dozen or so amaryllis in the bay window, hopefully blooming in a month or so. The Christmas cactus is blooming. But gardening is in abeyance. I found a book I liked the look of in the gardening section of our bookstore, a memoir about gardening by Page Dickey called “Embroidered Ground”  — maybe I’ll look into more garden memoirs to read over the winter. sunset smallerHere is a peaceful view from the front yard, at sunset. Work is hectic now–this is final exam week–I gave two exams today, and will be doing lots of grading in the next few weeks. Tonight is the Potsdam Community Band rehearsal. It will be nice to come home to a quiet house after all the bustle and sound of the day.

I haven’t figured out what I’ll write about over the winter in this garden blog. I feel like I need a theme or a “project”–maybe a series of gardening memoir reviews? I can also join the “wordless Wednesday” club and take photos every Wednesday of the winter garden. Stay tuned.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Michele Whalen says:

    I love your photos Anne so will keep tuned in to see what you are capturing on the camera. Be well my Friend.

    1. Hi–I’ll be seeing you on Thursday for supper–believe it or not I am actually going to be there. I’m planning to drink a glass of wine first, so hopefully I’ll be relaxed!

Leave a Reply

