June 25 update

Weeding a few days ago

We had a heat wave for several days, and the ground was very dry, plants seemed to be just enduring, not thriving. I did a bit of emergency watering for seedlings and potted plants, but I don’t have time for anything more than that.

These dicentra bloom all summer

Finally yesterday it clouded up and we got a little rain. Yesterday I finished the back yard wall, hurray! Pictures soon. Other than finishing that wall,  I’ve been weeding and laying down mulch.

an old rusty pail with no bottom made a nice garden feature

I’d love to get to the potting shed make-over, but the weeding and mulching gets top priority right now. Just starting to bloom: Daylilies, echinacea, phlox, monarda, sweet pea, shasta daisies, yarrow, veronica. Still blooming strongly: false sunflower, evening primrose, roses, delphinium, larkspur, penstemon, campanulas, cleome, dianthus, geranium.

Stella de Oro daylilies

When I finished the backyard wall, I planted out all my heliotrope and the rest of my delphinium seedlings and nasturtium. About 1/3 of the decorative sunflowers that I grew from seed and planted have made it through the drought and have managed not to be eaten by bugs, but these are dwarfed by the sunflowers that self-seeded from last year’s sunflowers.

sweet pea

We built a–OK, I watched my husband build–a trellis for the sweet pea to grow on (picture soon) of an old step ladder. It doesn’t look pretty but it does the job.

evening primrose
Leave a Reply

