Daunting weather, undaunted plants

Trudging back from our barn from the evening (horse) feeding yesterday at 5 pm, I stopped to wander around the yard picking a bouquet of narcissus. By the time I was done my fingers were numb–it’s cold and damp, with a raw wind. But we needed this rain/snow so I don’t mind.

flowers in snow
flowers in snow

This week and next are the last two weeks of the semester, so all “hobbies” are shoved aside while I try to keep up with grading. I drove over to the barn after work to put Tundra’s rain sheet back on, but didn’t have time for anything else.

patch of tall primroses
patch of tall primroses

The garden is on its own, and I put in the bare minimum practice time with flute and clarinet. None of the plants seems bothered by the wet, cold weather.  I forget the name of these primroses, and I forget where I got them! They are very cold hardy, with small flowers in a tallish 6″ stem. The bloom is exquisite but you can’t appreciate it unless you kneel right down and examine it nose to nose. Each bloom looks hand painted–amazing.

anemone
white anemone --sylvestris

The wood anemone is also tough. It has spread rapidly, and I plan to dig up the ones coming up in the path to plant elsewhere. These have pure white nodding blooms in May, about 8″ high, and then develop seedheads that look like cotton balls.

Another plant that likes the cold is delphinium.

delphinium
delphinium

Inside the house the wood stove is going again. My nasturtium, sunflowers, delphinium and heliotrope seeds are all germinated, sprouted  and growing quickly.

wild tall coreopsis
wild tall coreopsis

This is a patch of wild coreopsis, a beautiful plant given to me by my sister-in-law, who is interested in native flowers. It grows six feet tall and puts out small, bright yellow flowers that sparkle in this semi-shady spot all of late summer and into the fall. Lots of friends have asked for a piece of it, and this generous patch has had many chunks cut out of the edges and given away, but it is still bigger each Spring.

peony shoots

The peonies are also gorgeous right now–with those bright red shoots like hands reaching out of the soil.

