My sister’s herb wheel, mid April

There’s no more snow! Everything looks green and growy.

Jeanne's herb wheel April 15
Jeanne's herb wheel April 15
Herb wheel plantings April 15 photo
Herb wheel plantings April 15 photo

Jeanne, I forgot what’s going on with the herb wheel these days. Let me know!

Jeanne’s reply: “The herb wheel is now showing signs of life and growth. Chives, mints, oregano, and thymes are happily filling in. I have planted three parsley plants, hoping to harvest enough to last the whole year as the plants grow. This weekend I plan on transplanting from my perennial bed three different colors of bee balm, since it is technically an herb, and I am tempted to plant some day lilies there, since some of my plants need dividing. As soon as we are frost-free, I am planting my purple basil, sweet basil, dill, and cilantro seedlings into the bed as well. We are quite dry here, and could use some soaking rain. It is in the forecast for the weekend–so I hope the weather man is right!

Last thought–I love rocks, and the wheel design of this garden is not as obvious as a wheel should be. So I have decided to find some flat rocks 8 or 10 inches in diameter to make paths where the spokes of the wheel would be. That way, I can designate sections of the wheel and still walk wherever I want, and have more texture in garden. I won’t do too much work in the garden, since in one year we are leaving this house due to a change in jobs. My daughter asked me recently if I felt bad leaving the gardens after putting so much work into them. But I figure my purpose in life is to leave two fantastic people (my children!) to improve the world, and as many gardens as I can to beautify it.”

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jeanne Daningburg says:

    The herb wheel is now showing signs of life and growth. Chives, mints, oregano, and thymes are happily filling in. I have planted three parsley plants, hoping to harvest enough to last the whole year as the plants grow. This weekend I plan on transplanting from my perennial bed three different colors of bee balm, since it is technically an herb, and I am tempted to plant some day lilies there, since some of my plants need dividing. As soon as we are frost-free, I am planting my purple basil, sweet basil, dill, and cilantro seedlings into the bed as well. We are quite dry here, and could use some soaking rain. It is in the forecast for the weekend–so I hope the weather man is right!

    Last thought–I love rocks, and the wheel design of this garden is not as obvious as a wheel should be. So I have decided to find some flat rocks 8 or 10 inches in diameter to make paths where the spokes of the wheel would be. That way, I can designate sections of the wheel and still walk wherever I want, and have more texture in garden. I won’t do too much work in the garden, since in one year we are leaving this house due to a change in jobs. My daughter asked me recently if I felt bad leaving the gardens after putting so much work into them. But I figure my purpose in life is to leave two fantastic people (my children!) to improve the world, and as many gardens as I can to beautify it.

Leave a Reply

